Home > Farms > 1940’s day at Farmer Copley’s, Pontefract

1940’s day at Farmer Copley’s, Pontefract

I might be guilty of moaning a little bit (oh, OK, a lot) when the laundry basket’s full to the top and I need to get on top of the washing.

I’ll sort into piles, grab an armful of clothes, stick them into the washing machine and press a handy little button labelled ‘start’ then watch them all whizz round and get clean on their own accord.

You start to think we’re a little bit pampered nowadays when you clock sight of this type of contraption though that was on display at Farmer Copley’s Farm, Pontefract, today.

wash basket 1940s

Yes. I feel tired just thinking about it. A nice bit of carbolic soap on the side there to scrub the clothes in the water with, and then put the clothes back in and pump up and down with the handy wooden stick device sticking out of the top.

(Yes, I know it’s probably got a much more technical term than “wooden stick thing”, so if you know what it called I’d love to know. 🙂 )

Some more washing products here

washing products 1940s

So, after watching the re-enactors doing some washing, and letting the 9 year old have a go at doing the washing too, we went to look at the children’s rooms.

Little baby in her pram had to be fitted up with a gas mask, into which air had to be pumped into every 20 minutes to stop her from suffocating.

baby in gas mask

It makes you realise just how much we take for granted nowadays, doesn’t it?!

This  weekend is all things 1940’s at Farmer Copleys. To find out more about this or other events they are holding visit the website here  Farmer Copley’s,Pontefract or find them on Facebook here

Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored post in any way, and have received no payment whatsoever. I’m merely just sharing a good family day out.

Edit: I’ve just been reliably informed by the 9 year old that the “wooden stick thing” is, in fact, called a posser. Well, that’s me told. 😀

Categories: Farms Tags: ,
  1. June 29, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    I think these events are a great way to bring history alive to educate our children (and us) and remind us just how lucky we are today! As we have six children I couldn’t live without my washing machine. Thanks for coming over and sharing with Country Kids.

  2. June 29, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    9 year olds know a lot don’t they. Yes I hate to imagine all the washing without my machine.

  3. June 30, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    I love events like this, so interesting for kids and parents alike!

  4. Marny Barton
    May 31, 2016 at 10:21 pm

    I’m so glad have come across your interesting blog “kids in tow” (albeit a few years after the event!) and to read the wooden stick thing named as a posser!
    When I married in 1967 my mother in law, a Yorkshire woman, gave me the posser from her family. She explained that it was used with a peggy tub. I have always loved it and kept it on show. Sadly it got woodworm and I am unable to salvage it but I am going to get copies made, for her grandchildren, my son and daughter, in honour of their dad’s Yorkshire family whom I had the honour and pleasure of knowing. The posser is just like the one in the photograph. Thank you for the confirmation!

  5. Marny
    June 1, 2016 at 12:49 am

    I’m so glad to find your very interesting blog with the picture of the wooden stick thing .. giving it it’s proper name, a posser!
    When I married in 1967 my mother in law, a Yorkshire woman, gave me the family posser explaining that it was used with a peggy tub. I loved it and it was always on display in the house. Sadly it got woodworm that can’t be fixed so I am planning to get two copies made, for her grandchildren, my son and daughter, in honour of that great Yorkshire family, and to keep the tradition alive in our family. So .. thank you very much!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

